Tags

, , ,

Thing went a little better today. The neighbours were quiet and the baby went to sleep a bit earlier so I wasn’t so worn. I was going to doing yoga earlier today when I had a babysitter for an hour but I bailed on it. I really am out of the habit and it is a bit like pulling teeth to get me to do yoga right now. I know I love it though once I commit myself to the practice. Soooo I am going to keep at it. Besides.. I start my teacher training in less than two months. I HAVE to get myself into a bit better shape before then.

45 minute gentle mixed session

  • 5 minute meditation
  • 12 cycles of alternate nostril breathing
  • Mountain pose
  • 3 Sun salutations
  • Triangle Pose (Trikonasana)
  • Wide legged forward fold, straight back
  • Wide legged forward fold, yogi grip
  • Balancing Stick Pose (Tuladandasana)
  • Pyramid Pose (Parsvottonasana)
  • Bound Angle Pose, forward fold (Baddha Konasana)
  • Seated Forward Bend, straight back
  • Seated One Leg Forward Bend Position, relaxed back
  • Lying twists
  • Savasana

I noticed that I did a lot of forward folding but not much backward bending tonight. I was just sort of winging it and I think in the future I will come into the practice with a bit more of a plan. There are lots of sequences available online that I can look at an use until I get into planning my own.

I also had lots of thought going through my mind this session. Lots of feelings of insecurity about becoming a yoga teacher. “Who am I to think I can teach this?? I can barely do this!!”  It is strange having been an avid yoga practitioner in the past returning to practice after over a year hiatus. I feel so NEW again and not in a good way. I am beating myself up to much about it. I think it is beneficial for me to see this side of yoga again. It is humbling if nothing else.

I did have some nice clunking sort of movements tonight though that I got when I first started yoga years ago (2006). When I did my twists at the end my back sort of clicked and groaned into the position. It felt great but my neck feels a little sore now. Movement is happening in the stiff body of mine. I need to remember to just relax and be where I am physically. A year of not really moving much is going to take some time to undo.

