Tags

,

I guess I forget to tell my partner I was doing this yoga challenge for myself. I thought I had! When I mentioned it tonight he said that he thought it was rather silly to do yoga every day for a year… unless I wanted to do it everyday. He has a beautiful approach to things that I love even when I don’t agree with him. We talked a bit about the difference between setting a disciplined practice and torturing yourself with unrealistic and high expectations.This is challenging for me but I think it is a good sort of thing. And I think a year is realistic. I have had a daily practice that lasted longer than a year in the past. I know there will be some days where I will do very little. I am okay with that. Life comes with all sorts of twists and turns. I am sure my yoga practice can twist and turn right along with it.

45 Minutes of Hatha Yoga

  • Meditation
  • Alternate Nostril Breathing (12 sets)
  • 3 Sun Salutations (Surya Namaskara B)
  • Intense side stretch (Parshvottanasana)
  • Wide legged forward fold
  • Wide legged forward fold with interlaced fingers behind back
  • Supported Camel
  • Child’s Pose
  • Runner’s lunge (Yin Style-Baby Dragon)
  • Happy Baby
  • Lying twists
  • Savasana

I noticed tonight how I have a tendency to throw myself into the end part of the postures. Often I can get to the end result but I lose integrity on the way. It is like I am going from A to C while taking a detour around B. I started to explore the middle of the postures a bit more. It was interesting and very challenging. So far I have been feeling pretty sore despite taking it easy with the yoga I have been doing. It makes it difficult to do things in a controlled manner when the body is aching. I just keep pulling back out to that place somewhere between absolute comfort and conscious effort. One of my teachers always talked about finding that edge. “Don’t tune out” she would say.

