Tags

, , ,

While I was settling the baby in bed tonight hubby decided to play video games with the volume low. I came downstairs, sat for a moment watching him kill things, and then decided I would much rather do yoga. I informed of him of my plans and went into the other room. My son was in the kitchen with him and two minutes into my practice the volume got turned up on the game. Counter Strike. War. Guns. Death. Screaming. Terrorists. It was a terrible yoga soundtrack. I thought about telling them to can it but instead I decided to move to the farthest away room. Bang!!! Rat tat tat tat! AHEEEEEE!  Moving location helped a bit but not much. I was annoyed.
I don’t believe that spiritual practice needs to happen in a quiet cave. Nor do I believe that we should “wait” for things to be perfect before we move forward with our own plans. I also truly believe that spiritual discipline needs to be found in everyday life not outside of it. I will say however, that my beliefs were challenged tonight. Oh cave! Where are you?

30 minutes of Yin Yoga (5 minute holds)

  • Meditation
  • Melting heart (Anahatasana)
  • Wide legged child’s pose
  • Kneeling twists (5 minutes each side)
  • Cobbler
