Tags

, ,

Dictionary definition of yoga:
A Hindu spiritual and ascetic discipline, a part of which, including breath control, simple meditation, and the adoption of specific bodily postures, is widely practiced for health and relaxation

I mostly talk about meditation, breath work, and asana’s when referring to yoga on this blog but in reality there is much more to it than that. It really is a complete life discipline. It is an extremely rich and detailed system that touches on most problems that man (modern or ancient) might encounter. In yoga I would be considered a “householder” meaning that I have chosen to live in the world rather than be a spiritual renunciate. Most days I am pretty damn happy about my choice to be a householder. Today however hiding in a cave for fifteen years seemed pretty appealing. The sick teething baby decided to stay up until 3:30am and then woke up early which meant she was a beast all day. She cried through dinner and the teen decided to get all huffy and dramatic about it.  Then the husband (who just can’t seem to resist poking a moody teen) decided to make some smart ass comments. The teen got even more worked about everything, which worked up the baby and me. DRAMA abound. I was sleep deprived, angry, annoyed, worn out and really just wanted them to all go away and leave me in peace. That doesn’t sound very yogi of me does it???

Trying to live in yogic way is funny. It doesn’t stop feelings, reactions, emotions…. Family still gets under my skin. The people I love the most annoy me the most.. yet somehow my yoga practice does help me surf through these rough waters with a little more ease. I cool down quicker. I remember to breathe. My reactions are less severe and feel less dramatic and life altering. Tonight I am going to meditate… that is going to be my yoga. Some long drawn out breaths and maybe some Yoga Nidra. Tomorrow I can get back to something more active.

