Tags

,

Being a new yoga teacher is kind of humbling. I had a hatha class tonight on the schedule. I didn’t think anyone was going to show up and then one person did. So far I have only had one class where no one showed.  As a new teacher I am pretty insecure so small or empty classes do send me into a few moments of doubt about my abilities. Fortunately I was warned by some very fantastic and popular teachers that their first year of teaching yoga was very pretty challenging. No one knows you and the amount of yoga teachers people can choose from in this city is kind or insane. I did a bit of research and figure there are around 100 other yoga classes being offered in Victoria on Fridays (the same day as one of my classes). Really it is glorious that there is so much yoga here. I am grateful to live in a place where this is the case…even if it means my chances of “getting yoga work” are less. Thankfully I do have other work. Teaching yoga is not my only means of survival so I do have some breathing room to grow my professional practice. It will just take time.. and some patience on my end.

I do really love it. I was worried I would go to school and end up not enjoying actually instructing classes. Teaching yoga is very rewarding. What has surprised me the most is how much I am learning about my own practice by teaching others. What is the saying again? “The Best Way to Learn is to Teach”? That certainly seems to be the case for me. I thought I would feel stagnant once I finished my teacher training but that hasn’t happened at all.

So quiet class, quiet practice.. but I feel like I am on the right path.

