Tags

, , , ,

I spend a fair amount of time experimenting with movement during postures. I don’t usually teach these “experiments” in class because I am worried about the safety of my students if I start putting them in weird positions that aren’t tried and true. However in my own practice I am finding this subtle more intuitive practice incredibly rewarding. It is like I am really getting to know my body for the first time in my life. The journey is fascinating.

I started doing this style of practice after being inspired by Vanda Scaravelli’s book Awakening the Spine. I did a bit more research into her style of teaching and unique approach and it just clicked with me. She says “Movement is the song of the body… the body has its own song from which the movement arises spontaneously.” Exploring yoga with this sort of mentality turns it into a beautiful dance… but this dance is for yourself, not an audience. Because of this it doesn’t matter how it looks. It is all about exploring how it feels. The body guides us instead of us putting the body into a posture. I can feel myself opening up naturally. It is like my body is spreading out.  There is a wonderful feeling of ease and spaciousness that occurs slowly and naturally.

There is a nice article here about this style of yoga if you are interested in reading more.

