Tags

, , , , ,

Day two of Street Yoga Teacher Training and it is going well although I am feeling pretty exhausted by the end of each day. I have a lot of my own personal experience with trauma and when whenever I attend a workshop where we talk about it I always feel a lot of emotion stir as old memories come up . I think it is good to go through this… but I certainly notice I am far more drained after any trauma related workshops than other yoga workshops I have taken.

Today in the training we went over some practical skills about working with people who have had (or presently have) trauma in their lives… There was mention of the importance of having support from others when working with this clientele and then a “mock class” where we got to see situations yoga  teachers might deal with. It became very obvious in the mock class WHY having another person around for assistance can be of great benefit. This is especially important if you are working with clients you are unfamiliar with.

My fellow classmates are a fascinating mix of people. Social workers, doulas, midwives, yoga teachers, counselors…There is  a great blend of experience in the room. I am learning as much from my fellow students as I am from the actual workshop facilitator. I am going to try to remember to ask if we can make an email list so that I can keep in touch with some of these folks. I would love to work with some of them in the future on like minded projects if they were open to it. The only person that seems to be missing in the room??? The one that knows how to write grant proposals to get funding for this sort of thing. I am starting to suspect that I am going to have to take a course in proposal and grant writing if I actually want to work with this population. I can donate a few hours a week to this cause but in the end I do have bills to pay and mouths to feed. I firmly believe that yoga is an incredible skill to know for people dealing with stress, abuse, trauma and poverty.. I believe it is worth funding..

