Tags

, , ,

Every year there is a fundraiser called a Global Mala where people (usually seasoned yoga practitioners) show up, donate some cash and then do 108 sun salutations in a row together. I went. I did not do anywhere near 108 sun salutations though. Locally the cash raised at the Mala was donated to the United Way which is a charity that helped me greatly in the past when I was a single mom. I felt it was important to be there but I had my two year old and didn’t think the actual “yoga” part of the day would go all that well. I was right.

Each volunteer yoga teacher taught 9 sun salutations. For the first 9 my toddler stayed on my mat… climbing on up me sometimes and cuddling me when I came down into chaturanga. Then for the next 4 or 5 she decided that being on my back was perhaps the coolest way to do a sun salutation. We took a break after that. Plank with a wiggly 25lb weight on your back wasn’t the funnest thing to do. The next 9 sun salutations involved my toddler running around the indoor soccer field where this event was being hosted with me chasing her, making sure she didn’t knock over the sound and audio visual equipment. I finally got her to settle (thank you Youtube videos and Iphone). The next instructor however was an intense “flow aerobic strength core work your butt off kind of teacher. She guided us through the most complex sun salutation I have ever done involving a lot of core strengthening work. I was tired and sore from the last two days of yoga I had been practicing. My form was getting weak. I was worried about injuring myself.  I stopped.

What I thought was interesting though is that many other people who stopped in the room were yoga teachers. It seemed many people were keen to do the 108 but a large percentage of teachers took breaks. I think probably many teachers have experience overdoing it. When you have yoga classes to instruct being sore or injured isn’t the best thing either. I don’t know why this dynamic surprised me… but it did.

So ya, I didn’t do much.. but it was very lovely to be a room with so many people practicing yoga together.

