Tags

, ,


Most of my life I have been pretty fit. I played sports in school. I was a competitive athlete. I biked instead of driving a car until I was almost thirty. I weight lifted, swam, ran, surfed… and did yoga. Now that I am a yoga teacher and that is my primary source of activity I find that I am feeling a little out of shape.

What you say? Out of shape? But yoga teachers are all fit and skinny aren’t they?

They aren’t. It is a lie. And most yoga marketing promotes this lie. After all… people want to be skinny right? So just like fashion magazines find a “certain type of model’ to put on their covers…so do many yoga books/articles/ads. And despite what most people would believe about themselves…. they are more likely to buy a product if it is packaged with a skinny model on the front.

With a wee one finding time to work out becomes a bit more challenging. I do yoga at home but have started biking again (with my daughter in a bike seat). I am interested in getting more cardio activity in my life. I have started going back to a gym that has childcare on site. I run on the treadmill and row on the ergometer. I am exercising again and it feels great.

There is this myth in the yoga industry that you don’t need any other exercise than yoga to stay fit. This simply isn’t true. Many studies have proven otherwise. In general yoga doesn’t burn many calories, not even the more active kinds. Yoga isn’t all that effective as exercise. Really. Go for a jog instead. Or a long walk.

However yoga is INCREDIBLE for many other things in life, and in this way it might lead to healthier, fitter, thinner living.

These can include:

  • Balance
  • Coordination
  • Flexibility
  • Strength
  • Reducing Stress
  • Improve Digestion
  • Minimizing Compulsive and/or Addictive Behaviors
  • Managing Chronic Pain
  • Reduce High Blood Pressure
  • Lowering Bad Cholesterol Levels
  • Improving Immune Function
  • Regulating Hormones
  • Lifting Moods and Easing Depression
  • Providing Quality Sleep

Yoga is a an amazing and valuable addition to a healthy life. But I thought you should all know…. Madonna didn’t actually get that fit from only doing yoga.

