Tags

, , ,

I taught a community class at Lululemon  It was a restorative yoga class designed for marathon runners post their Good Life Fitness Marathon. I like the causes the marathon raised funds for so I felt it would be good to support these runners. But it was at Lululemon and I really struggled with this.

Why you ask? Well Lululemon is a lifestyle marketing company. They sell clothes but in reality they are selling an idea of how to live.  The concept is to “rise above mediocrity” and in general with this kind of marketing you are led to believe that if you buy their product you will feel a little piece of the lifestyle concept they are selling. Their clothes are really expensive. Like really expensive. It is way too much money for the actual quality of their items. I have bought used Lululemon clothes before but I have never bought anything in their store. I always feel a little embarrassed advertising their logo. I often cover it. I would rather buy local eco clothing from my friend at Salts Organic if I was in a position to spend a little extra.

In general I don’t support Lululemon’s business model. An example of what I mean is on their manifesto. It states that “Friends are more important than money” yet they price their items through the roof. Production of their clothing has shifted away from domestic manufacturing. The decision for this was to make more money. Their clothes are made in China, Taiwan, Indonesia, Thailand, Vietnam etc. I read some where too that apparently they also changed their XL size to be a size 12 (less fabric? less cost perhaps?) Friends might be important… but money is money and this company is certainly interested in making some.

So ya, I taught a class there..  A class about non doing, about resting, about letting go of wants and desires, about accepting where we are and being perfectly okay with it. And the thing was….the staff were amazing. They were intelligent, receptive to what I taught, happy and generally seemed to love their work and the idea of spreading yoga to everyone regardless of body shape or income. They genuinely seemed to care about their local community.  They were incredibly nice. As for the space?  I have to admit I really enjoyed turning off ALL THE LIGHTS in the store. All the products were pushed aside and we TURNED OFF THE DAMN BLARING STEREO. Suddenly Lululemon was a peaceful place. I was surprised at how much I enjoyed teaching there.. but now I can’t shake this feeling that I have turned to the dark side.

