Tags

, ,

I read this post recently in which a fellow yoga teacher talks about hating her first yoga class. Ironically it seems many avid yoga practitioners don’t fall in love with yoga immediately. I know in my case it took a few tries and a few teachers before it really caught my attention.

The thing is… yoga has a huge amount of variety in how it is taught. The beauty of all this choice means yoga has the potential to move you (or maybe touch your heart) at all kinds of different times in your life. And what might be totally enjoyable for you at one time may be your version of a hell class at another. I have gone on many extreme love/hate rides with Vinyasa Flow classes.

So if you don’t like yoga… maybe try another teacher. Or maybe now isn’t the time. That doesn’t mean you can’t try again later. I cannot express how grateful I am that despite my initial repulsion.. I tried again. Yoga has a funny way of surprising us when we least expect it.

