Tags

, , , , , ,

When I started my yoga teacher training I was sure I would come out and teach Yin Yoga. I did a little.. and I subbed Yin classes here and there but either the timing never worked out for me to have a Yin spot or someone else was hired to teach it. It seems Victoria has an abundant number of Yin Yoga teachers.

For those of you who don’t know Yin Yoga is a style of yoga that involves long holds, usually while being seated or lying on the floor. Sometimes props are used, sometimes not. There are lots of hip openers helping prepare the body for long periods of seated meditation. The energy in a Yin class is quiet, calm and the focus inward.

Yin Yoga is a practice that technically doesn’t target the muscles at all despite it’s ability to make practitioners incredibly flexible. Yin Yoga targets connective tissues, including ligaments, joints, fascia, and even bones to a certain extent. During the postures muscles are encouraged to relax so that the deeper tissues can be stimulated instead. The stimulation/stress is believed to cause a “healing response” in the tissues improving strength and a slight lengthening. The areas targeted tend to be where we feel “stiffness“, especially as we age, even though we usually attribute the feeling of stiffness to our muscles.  In Yin Yoga practitioners get incredibly deep into the body and this can prove to be very intense and challenging sometimes despite Yin being thought of as a beginner class.

So I am back to a regular spot now teaching Yin.. ironically at the first studio where I fell in love with Yoga and was introduced to Yin. Life really is a big funny circle isn’t it? I don’t have many regular yet. I am still building the class and getting to know the studio from the “other side” but so far I am enjoying myself and getting the feel once more for this incredible practice that changed my life.

